Not long now

Went to the US embassy today with a pile of proof that I’m coming back to Mexico, have a job, a decent bank balance etc. Needn’t have worried, I got it approved in about 3 minutes.

In other good news, my tendon and foot is getting better and stronger. I walked for almost 2 hours today with no ill effect. Don’t f*** around with tendons, these things heal very very slowly even with a slight injury.

So, 5 weeks to Atlanta to buy most of my gear, unfortunately will miss a friend by just 2 days there. Hope to see you for an ice cold Jack Daniels somewhere along the trail, Alec.

I’m going to stay with the lovely people at the Hiker Hostel in Dahlonega, GA on the 3rd April, ready to hit the trail the next day. They pick you up from an Atlanta metro station, give you breakfast, a bunk and take you to the trail head the next day for a mere $75. Bargain. I’ve pestered them with numerous enquiries and they’ve been nothing but fantastic. I can even get some things shipped there for pick-up on my arrival.

www.hikerhostel.com

The sort of ultra-lightweight wimp that I’ll have to get used to.

I have two choices on day 1.  I can walk the approach trail or I can get a ride right to near the start of the trail proper at the top of Mount Springer, GA.

All the time I’ve been thinking about the Appalachian Trail I’d never considered not walking the 9 mile approach trail, but in all honesty, I think I will probably skip it now. Hike your own hike and all that.

Blah blah blah, I know the arguments in favour of doing it and it’s all old hat. I don’t want to climb 3500 feet on my first day with a whole load of new gear. My contribution to discussions in the first couple of days will be whimsical hypothesising about how badly my first day could’ve gone.

In other news, good friends Simon and Lucy will be arriving here in Mexico for a couple of weeks this Thursday. After a good few days enjoying the delights of the capital we”ll have a week to climb pyramids, avoid tarantulas and eat delicious delights in the southern state of Chiapas.

Leave a Reply

